EMS Summer School on Combinatorial Commutative Algebra

8-12 August 2022

Summer School Topics

This is an EMS (European Mathematical Society) summer school. The main goal of the school is to create an environment for participants, especially for postdocs and graduate students, to learn about some of the foundational topics and emerging research directions in combinatorial commutative algebra. The titles and the abstracts of the lectures are:

Contributed Talks

  • Chow ring of generic flag varieties under the spin groups
    Sanghoon Baek (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Gröbner basis of closed path polyominoes
    Carmelo Cisto (University of Messina)
  • Polymatroidal ideals and their homological shifts
    Antonino Ficarra (University of Messina)
  • Equivariant Hilbert series of subspace arrangements
    Francesca Gandini (University of Primorska)
  • Dominating ideals and closed neighbourhood ideals of graphs
    Aslı Musapaşaoğlu (Sabancı University)
  • Hilbert-Poincare series and rook polynomial of closed path polyominoes
    Francesco Navarra (University of Messina)
  • On affine semigroups of maximal projective dimension
    Om Prakash (Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar)
  • Classes of cut ideals and their Betti numbers
    Masoomeh Rahimbeigi
  • The v-number of monomial ideals
    Kamalesh Saha (Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar)
  • Projective closure of affine monomial curves
    Pranjal Srivastava (Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar)
  • Arf numerical semigroups and their gaps
    Meral Süer (Batman University)
  • On h-polynomial and rook polynomial of polyominoes
    Dharm Veer (Chennai Mathematical Institute)

The Summer School on Combinatorial Commutative Algebra is part of SCALE .

To register for the school, please use the registration of SCALE2022 link.

Important Dates

Registration deadline
15 July 2022

Financial support application
15 May 2022


The summer school will take place
only in person
at Gebze Technical University

Organizing Committee

Nursel Erey
Gebze Technical University, Turkey


Jürgen Herzog
Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Takayuki Hibi
Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Osaka University, Japan
Sara Saeedi Madani
Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran Polytechnic) and IPM, Iran

Scientific Committee

Fatemeh Mohammadi
Ghent University, Belgium
Müfit Sezer
Bilkent University, Turkey
Dumitru Stamate
University of Bucharest, Romania